Resources

Brevard County Area Information


ELECTRICITY - Florida Power & Light Co.

321-723-7795 www.fpl.com


Requires a deposit that varies according to a customer's credit rating. An initial service charge is included on the first bill.



GAS - Florida City Gas.


(800) 993-7546 www.floridacitygas.com
Supplies natural gas to most of Brevard. The company requires a meter deposit that varies according to the amount of monthly gas usage.


TELEPHONE - Bell South
.


(888) 757-6500 www.bellsouth.net
Contact BellSouth at any hour to set up service. A deposit amount is determined by the customer's credit report.


WATER, SEWER, TRASH - respective city halls



City of Melbourne 321-727-2900 melbourneflorida.org


West Melbourne 321-727-7700 westmelbourne.org
Titusville 321-383-5791 www.titusville.com


Cocoa 321-639-7500 www.cocoafl.org



Palm Bay 321-952-3420 www.palmbayfl.org




Charges for sewer, water and deposit rates vary throughout the county. Deposits are refunded when service is disconnected.


LEGAL ADVICE



The Florida Bar's Lawyer Referral Service provides a 30-minute office consultation for $25. Call (800) 342-8011.

Brevard County Legal Aid offers free service with family law and other civil legal services. Financial guidelines may apply. Hours are 9 a.m. to noon and 1 to 4 p.m. Monday through Thursday, and 9 a.m. to noon
.


AUTOMOBILE TAGS

Several Apply Locations www.brevardtaxcollector.com
New residents must apply for Florida tags and car titles within 10 days after beginning work, apply for homestead tax exemption or enroll children in school.

.


DRIVER'S LICENSE.

Apply Online www.myflorida.com
Titusville 321-383-2763

Melbourne 321-984-4933 

North Melbourne 321-752-3162

Merrit Island 321-449-5003
A Florida driver license must be obtained within 30 days of gaining employment, establishing residency, claiming a homestead exemption, registering to vote or registering a child at a public school.




HOMESTEAD TAX EXEMPTION 
.

Several Apply Locations www.brevardpropertyappraiser.com



Eligible Florida residents may apply for the year-round homestead exemption of $25,000 on or before March 1 of the year they seek the exemption. .